[Watch] Nathan Lyon complete his 24th Fifer by taking Glenn Phillips Wicket

Nathan Lyon, the Australian off-spinner, showcased his brilliance once again in the opening Test against New Zealand at the Basin Reserve in Wellington.

Nathon Lyon 24th Fifer Glenn Phillips

In the second innings of the match, Lyon proved to be a thorn in the side of the New Zealand batting lineup, bagging a magnificent five-wicket haul. His exceptional spell helped Australia gain control as they defended an imposing target of 369 runs. Lyon’s figures of 6 for 65 played a crucial role in sealing victory for the tourists.

Nathan Lyon complete his 24th Fifer

Lyon’s fifer against New Zealand marked a significant milestone in his illustrious Test career, being his 24th five-wicket haul for Australia. This accomplishment further solidifies his reputation as one of the modern-day legends of the game.

Dismissal of Glenn Phillips

One of Lyon’s notable wickets in the innings was that of Glenn Phillips, the dangerous middle-order batter for New Zealand. Phillips, who had displayed his attacking prowess with a counterattacking 71 in the first innings, fell victim to Lyon’s sharp turning delivery. Lyon’s delivery, drifting from around the wicket, deceived Phillips, resulting in a plumb LBW dismissal. Umpire Marais Erasmus had no hesitation in raising his finger, sending Phillips back to the pavilion after just adding one run to his score.

Lyon’s All-Round Contribution

Apart from his bowling heroics, Lyon also made a valuable contribution with the bat, scoring a crucial 41 runs in the third innings for Australia. His innings helped extend Australia’s first-innings advantage, setting a formidable target for New Zealand to chase.

Yuzvendra Chahal’s Heartfelt Message to Wife Dhanashree Verma

Nathan Lyon’s exceptional performance in the Wellington Test showcased his skill and determination, earning him accolades as one of the standout performers of the match. His ability to consistently deliver in pressure situations highlights his importance to the Australian cricket team.

Scroll to Top