The Top 5 Countries Who Played Most FIFA World cup Finals in History 

FIFA World Cup 2022 is about to end. Many large countries such as Spain, Germany, England, Belgium and Brazil crashed much earlier than expected. Italy could not even qualify for the 2022 World Cup. Although many of these teams have done well in the FIFA World Cup. Many teams have reached the finals in many World Cups. After Argentina reached the World Cup final for the sixth time, let’s look at other countries.

The Top 5 Countries Who Played Most FIFA World cup Finals in History as Given Below


5. Netherlands (3 Times)


The Dutch team has never won the World Cup in its history. However, they have made it to Three FIFA World Cup finals. The Netherlands reached two consecutive FIFA World Cup finals in 1974 and 1978. In 1978, Argentina won the World Cup after defeating them 3–1 in extra time. After 44 years, Argentina once again defeated the Netherlands in a penalty shootout in the quarter-finals.

The Netherlands came close to defeating Spain in the 2010 final. However, Spain took the lead in extra time. Andres Iniesta of FC Barcelona scored the winner as Spain won their first FIFA World Cup.

4. Italy (6 Times)

Old Italy Football Team
Italians are famous in the FIFA World Cup. They have been very inconsistent in recent years. Italy stunned the world by defeating England in the penalty shootout in the final of Euro 2020. However, a few months later, Italy failed to qualify for the 2022 FIFA World Cup, although they have appeared in six FIFA World Cup finals.

ALSO CHECK : What is the Prize Money for Winning team, Runner up and Others

Italy and Brazil are the only two countries to have won the FIFA World Cup twice in a row. Italy did this in 1934 and 1938. Italy’s last FIFA World Cup final was in 2006 against France. The Italians beat France 5–3 on penalties to win their fourth World Cup.

3. Argentina (6 Times)

Old Argentina Football Team
Lionel Messi’s Argentina has some history at the FIFA World Cup. Argentina and Uruguay made it to the finals of the first FIFA World Cup. Argentina tragically lost their first ever FIFA World Cup final. However, Argentina made it to the finals in 1978 and 1986, Maradona winning on both occasions.

After winning it in 1986 and losing in another final in 1990, Argentina did not appear in the final until 2014. Lionel Messi led and inspired Argentina to reach the finals of the FIFA World Cup 2014. However, Germany’s Mario Götze scored a goal. A late goal ended Messi and Argentina’s dreams. Argentina have reached the final for a record sixth time in their history after defeating Croatia 3-0 in the FIFA World Cup 2022.

2. Brazil (7 Times)

Old Brazil Team

Pele, Ronaldinho, Ronaldo Nazario, Neymar Jr and Roberto Carlos are just a few of the many great Brazilian legends. What is the FIFA World Cup without Brazil, Brazil is full of talent and great attacking players. Brazil has won the FIFA World Cup the most times (5). They have reached the finals 7 times in their history. However, the last time Brazil made it to the final was in 2002.

In the same year They won the FIFA World Cup 2002 against Germany. Brazil was the tournament favorite for the 2022 FIFA World Cup. Unfortunately for them, Neymar Jr’s late goal was not enough. Croatia knocked them out on penalties.

1. Germany (8 Times)

Old Germany Football Team
First West Germany, now Germany has made it to the finals of the FIFA World Cup Eight times. This is the most by any country in the FIFA World Cup. Germany has won the FIFA World Cup four times in its history. Germany’s worst losses came in 1982 and 1986 when they lost two consecutive FIFA World Cup finals.

However, the very next year in the 1990 final, Germany defeated Argentina to win their third World Cup. Incidentally, this is the third time Germany has faced Argentina in a FIFA World Cup final. In 2014, Germany reached the final for the eighth time and won the World Cup for the fourth time. The German team has not been able to live up to its expectations since the 2014 World Cup. Germany failed to progress past the group stage of the FIFA World Cup in 2018 as well as 2022.

Scroll to Top