Watch Babar Azam’s Unfortunate 16th Duck: Afghanistan’s Mujeeb Strikes in Pakistan vs. Afghanistan 1st ODI

In the first ODI between Pakistan and Afghanistan held at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium in Hambantota on Tuesday, August 22, an interesting cricket moment unfolded. Babar Azam, the captain of the Pakistan team, faced a challenging situation as he ended up with his 16th “duck” in international cricket.

Facing off against Afghanistan’s talented spinner Mujeeb ur Rahman, the right-handed batter found himself in a tough spot. Babar Azam was dismissed leg before wicket (lbw), which means the ball would have gone on to hit the stumps if his leg hadn’t gotten in the way. This marked his fourth “duck” in One Day Internationals (ODIs).

The dismissal occurred during the second over of the match. Mujeeb delivered a ball that was full in length and had a sharp spin after pitching outside the off-stump. Unfortunately for Babar, he misjudged the spin and couldn’t connect his bat to the ball. The ball struck him on the inside edge and hit his pads, leading to the lbw decision as he was caught in front of the middle stumps.

In a bid to contest the decision, Babar Azam decided to challenge the umpire’s call by calling for a review. However, the review process confirmed that the ball’s trajectory would indeed have led it to hit the middle and leg stumps, validating the initial decision.

This moment showcases the unpredictable nature of cricket, where even seasoned players like Babar Azam can face unexpected challenges and outcomes in the midst of intense matches.

Watch Babar Azam’s Unfortunate 16th Duck Video

Watch Mohammad Nabi’s Emotional Reaction as Teammate Nearly Misses Crucial Catch

Leave a Comment