The Most Expensive Players in IPL History

Most Expensive Players in IPL: In the ongoing IPL Auction 2024, a new record has been set with some jaw-dropping bids. Let’s take a look at who currently holds the title for the most expensive player in IPL history.

Pat Cummins Takes the Lead

Australia’s Pat Cummins has made history by becoming the most expensive player in the IPL. The Sunrisers Hyderabad secured his services for a whopping 20.50 Crore Rupees.

Mitchell Starc Sets a New Record

However, the record was short-lived as Mitchell Starc surpassed Cummins’ price tag. The Kolkata Knight Riders snagged Starc for a staggering 24.75 Crore Rupees, making him the new leader in the list of IPL’s most expensive players.

Other Notable Bids

Apart from Cummins and Starc, there have been other notable signings in the 2024 auction.

Alzarri Joseph to RCB

Alzarri Joseph fetched a significant bid, being sold to Royal Challengers Bangalore for a whopping 11.5 Crore Rupees.

Daryl Mitchell to CSK

Daryl Mitchell, the New Zealand all-rounder, secured the third spot with a hefty price tag of INR 14 Crore. He joined the Chennai Super Kings in this record-breaking auction.

In this article, we’ll explore the list of players who have made headlines by commanding the highest bids in IPL history, both in the 2024 auction and in previous seasons.

Most Expensive Players in IPL History All Time

RankPlayerTeamPrice (INR)IPL Year
1Mitchell StarcKolkata Knight Riders24.75 Crore2024
2Pat CumminsSun Risers Hyderabad20.50 crore2024
3Daryl MitchellChennai Super Kings14 crore2024
4Chris MorrisRajasthan Royals16.25 crore2022
5Nicholas PooranLucknow Super Giants16 crore2021
6Yuvraj SinghDelhi Daredevils16 crore2015
7Rohit SharmaMumbai Indians16 crore2023
8Ravindra JadejaChennai Super Kings16 crore2023
9Rishabh PantDelhi Capitals16 crore2023
10Ishan KishanMumbai Indians15.25 crore2022
11Kylie JamiesonRoyal Challengers Bangalore15 crore2022
12Ben StokesRising Pune Supergiant14.5 crore2017
13Deepak ChaharChennai Super Kings14 crore2020
14Yuvraj SinghRoyal Challengers Bangalore14 crore2014
15Shreyas IyerKolkata knight riders12.25 crore2022


ALSO READ: Most Wide Ball Bowled in IPL

Scroll to Top