India Men’s, Women’s Cricket Team squad, Captains for Asian Games 2023

Asian Games 2023 : The India Cricket Team has recently announced its squad for the Asian Games 2023, marking their return to the competition after Cricket was excluded from the event in 2018. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has made a historic decision to allow the Indian Cricket Team to participate in the Asian Games, and they have now revealed the squads for both the men’s and women’s teams.

The men’s team will be led by Ruturaj Gaikwad, who will captain the side for the first time. This is an exciting opportunity for Gaikwad, who has previously captained domestic teams such as Puneri Bappa in the Maharashtra Premier League. The 15-man squad includes several new faces, with players like Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rinku Singh, and Jitesh Sharma being given the chance to represent their country. It’s important to note that this is a second-string squad, as the main focus of the Indian Cricket Team will be on the ICC World Cup 2023.

Asian Games 2023 Team India Captain


Initially, there were reports suggesting that Shikhar Dhawan might lead the team, but the selectors had different plans. They have chosen Gaikwad to take on this leadership role, considering his experience and potential. The Asian Games 2023 men’s cricket event is scheduled to take place in Hangzhou from September 23 to October 8, and it will feature a total of 40 different sports.

Alongside the men’s team, the women’s team will also be making their debut appearance in the Asian Games. Harmanpreet Kaur has been named as the captain of the women’s squad. The women’s team will feature prominent players such as Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, and Jemimah Rodrigues, who have already made a mark in international cricket.

Participating Teams in Asian Games 2023

Participating Teams List (Men)
China (host)


Participating Teams List (Women)
China (host)

Here are the full squads for both the men’s and women’s teams:

India Men’s Cricket Team squad for Asian Games 2023

  • Ruturaj Gaikwad (Captain)
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal
  • Rahul Tripathi
  • Tilak Varma
  • Rinku Singh
  • Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper)
  • Washington Sundar
  • Shahbaz Ahmed
  • Ravi Bishnoi
  • Avesh Khan
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Mukesh Kumar
  • Shivam Mavi
  • Shivam Dube
  • Prabhsimran Singh (wicket-keeper)

Standby players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarsan

India Women’s Squad for Asian Games 2023

  • Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain)
  • Smriti Mandhana (Vice-Captain)
  • Shafali Verma
  • Jemimah Rodrigues
  • Deepti Sharma
  • Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper)
  • Amanjot Kaur
  • Devika Vaidya
  • Anjali Sarvani
  • Titas Sadhu
  • Rajeshwari Gayakwad
  • Minnu Mani
  • Kanika Ahuja
  • Uma Chetry (wicket-keeper)
  • Anusha Bareddy
Scroll to Top