[Watch] Umpire’s Funny Mistake in Australia vs South Africa Women’s Game

In a recent match between Australia and South Africa women’s teams, there was a funny moment involving umpire Claire Polosak.

The Right Call, but the Wrong Signal

Initially, umpire Polosak made the correct decision by ruling South African batter Sune Luus as not out on the last ball of the 24th over. Australia decided to challenge the decision, but the review confirmed that Luus was not out as the ball hit her outside the line of the off-stump while she was attempting a sweep shot.

Umpire’s Funny Blunder

However, when the third umpire instructed Polosak to stick with her original decision, she mistakenly signaled Luus as out. Realizing her mistake almost immediately, Polosak quickly corrected herself, signaling Luus as not out while apologizing for the error. This incident brought a smile to the faces of Australian fielders Alana King and Ashleigh Gardner.

 

Luus’ Departure and Australia’s Dominance

Although Luus was not out at that moment, Gardner managed to dismiss her in the following over. Luus could only score 19 runs off 33 balls before departing.

Australia in Command

With a victory in the first ODI already under their belt, Australia is in a strong position to win the series with a 2-0 lead. Currently, they are in control of the second ODI, with South Africa losing wickets regularly.

Josh Littleā€™s Spectacular Catch In ILT20 Draws Twitter Praise

Challenges for South Africa

While players like Tazmin Brits, Anneke Bosch, and Sune Luus got decent starts, they couldn’t convert them into big scores. The responsibility now falls on Marizanne Kapp to guide her team to a competitive total. Kapp, accompanied by Nadine de Klerk at the crease, needs support from explosive hitters like Chloe Tryon. However, with South Africa at 136/4 and more than 20 overs remaining, they need a significant effort to set a challenging target for the Australians.

Scroll to Top