Babar Azam is a famous cricketer known for his ability to score runs when Pakistan needs them. However, in a recent match against South Africa, he made a mistake that led to criticism on Twitter.
In the game, Pakistan decided to bat first, but South African bowlers did well in the beginning, getting rid of Pakistan’s top-order batsmen. One of them, Jansen, got Abdullah Shafique out early, and Imam-ul-Haq got caught in a risky position. This left Pakistan in trouble at 58/2 after 10 overs.
Pakistan needed a strong partnership to recover, and Babar Azam seemed to be the one to provide it. He reached a half-century, but his team was still struggling at 136/4 after 27 overs. However, just when it looked like he could make a big score, things took a bad turn.
At a crucial moment in the match, Azam tried to play a tricky shot off Tabraiz Shamsi, but he only managed to touch the ball with his glove. The ball ended up in the hands of Quinton de Kock. Even though the umpire initially said he was not out, de Kock convinced his captain and the bowler to challenge the decision. Replays showed a tiny touch on Ultra Edge, so the decision was reversed. This was a significant moment in the game because Azam had just worked hard to reach fifty, and he was clearly upset about the dismissal.
After this, Twitter was filled with people making fun of Babar Azam for the shot he played and the decision he made in the match.
Watch Critics Slam Babar Azam’s Costly Dismissal Against South Africa
— Shamsi sinha (@SSinha23546) October 27, 2023
Lumber 1 batsman Babar Azam zimbabar to Paxtan after this ICC World Cup 😂
— Ashutosh Srivastava 🇮🇳 (@sri_ashutosh08) October 27, 2023
— Akhtar Jamal (@AkhtarActivist) October 27, 2023
— 𝑻𝒘𝒆𝒆𝒆𝒕𝒚 🇵🇸|🇵🇰 (@iTweeety56) October 27, 2023
🔔 ka king Babar deported.
— Lost Man (@iamaliveX) October 27, 2023
Pakistan's fans get ready for every game to get disappointed again
— ICT_FAN❤️🏏 (@IamRavindraNain) October 27, 2023