Highest, Most Run Scorers in the ICC Cricket World Cup History

Let’s dive into the incredible world of cricket and explore the remarkable achievements of some of the greatest batsmen in the history of the ICC Cricket World Cup. These legends have left an indelible mark on the sport, and their records continue to inspire cricket enthusiasts around the world.

Most Runs in ICC Cricket World Cup

Sachin Tendulkar – 2278

Sachin Tendulkar is often referred to as the “God of Cricket,” and for good reason. He’s not only a cricketing legend but also holds numerous records that seem impossible to break. Tendulkar scored a staggering 2278 runs in 44 innings during his World Cup career, spanning from 1992 to 2011.

One of his most memorable moments was his highest World Cup score of 152 runs. Tendulkar’s consistency and ability to perform at the highest level over two decades make him an icon in the world of cricket.

Ricky Ponting – 1743

Ricky Ponting, another cricketing great, is known for his exceptional leadership and batting prowess. He led the Australian team to victory in the 2003 and 2007 World Cups and contributed significantly with the bat, accumulating 1743 runs in 42 innings.

Ponting’s highest score of 140 not out showcased his ability to lead from the front and play pivotal roles in crucial matches. His legacy as a captain and batsman is etched in cricket history.

Kumara Sangakkara – 1532

Kumara Sangakkara, a beloved figure in Sri Lankan cricket, captained the team that reached the final of the 2011 World Cup. Although they fell short, Sangakkara’s leadership and stylish batting left a lasting impression. He scored a total of 1532 runs in 33 innings, with a highest score of 124.

Sangakkara’s consistency and elegant strokes earned him a special place in the hearts of cricket fans. He showcased the beauty of the sport with his graceful batting.

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule, Team, Venue, Time and Date

Brian Lara – 1225

Brian Lara, known for his flair and finesse, is counted among the greatest modern cricketers. With 1225 runs in 33 innings, Lara’s highest score of 116 demonstrated his ability to play exquisite shots and dominate top-class bowlers.

Lara’s impact on West Indies cricket is immeasurable, and his name is synonymous with elegance in the world of cricket.

AB de Villiers – 1207

AB de Villiers, hailing from South Africa, earned the nickname “Mr. 360” for his ability to hit the ball to all corners of the field. He delighted fans with his innovative batting style and explosive shots. De Villiers scored 1207 runs in just 22 innings over three World Cup editions.

His highest score of 162 not out showcased his ability to change the course of a match single-handedly. De Villiers remains a fan favorite for his entertaining brand of cricket.

These cricketing legends have not only left an indelible mark on the ICC Cricket World Cup but have also inspired generations of cricketers. Whether it’s Tendulkar’s unbreakable record, Ponting’s leadership, Sangakkara’s elegance, Lara’s finesse, or de Villiers’ innovation, each of these players has contributed significantly to the sport’s rich history.

Highest Run Scorer in ICC Cricket World Cup

PositionPlayer Name & CountryRuns ScoredInnings PlayedHighest ScoreSpan
1Sachin Tendulkar (IND)2278441521992-2011
2Ricky Ponting (AUS)174342140*1996-2011
3Kumar Sangakkara (SL)1532351242003-2015
4Brian Lara (WI)1225331161992-2007
5AB de Villiers (SA)120722162*2007-2015
6Chris Gayle (WI)1186342152003-2019
7Sanath Jayasuriya (SL)1165371201992-2007
8Jacques Kallis (SA)114832128*1996-2011
9Shakib Al Hasan (BAN)114629124*2007-2019
10Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)111225161*2007-2015
11Mahela Jayawardene (SL)110034115*1999-2015
12Adam Gilchrist (AUS)1085311491999-2007
13Javed Miandad (PAK)1083301031975-1996
14Stephen Fleming (NZ)107533134*1996-2007
15Herchelle Gibbs (SA)1067231431999-2007
16Aravinda de Silva (SL)1064321451987-2003
17Virat Kohli (IND)1030261072011-2019
18Viv Richards (WI)1013211811975-1987
19Sourav Ganguly (IND)1006211831999-2007

Waugh (AUS)

21Ross Taylor (NZ)100230131*2007-2019
22Martin Guptill (NZ)99527237*2011-2019
23David Warner (AUS)992181782015-2019
24Matthew Hayden (AUS)987211582003-2007
25Rohit Sharma (IND)978171402015-2019
26Steve Waugh (AUS)97830120*1987-1999
27Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)97028102*1996-2011
28Arjuna  Ranatunga (SL)9692988*1983-1999
29Faf du Plessis (SA)926211092011-2019
30Saeed Anwar (PAK)91521113*1996-2003
31Kane Williamson (NZ)911221482011-2019
32Scott Styris (NZ)909221412003-2011
33Graham Gooch (ENG)897211151979-1992
34Michael Clarke (AUS)8882193*2007-2015
35Martin Crowe (NZ)88021100*1983-1992
36Mushfiqur Rahim (BAN)87728102*2007-2019
37Rahul Dravid (IND)860211451999-2007
38Desmond Haynes (WI)854251051979-1992
39Virender Sehwag (IND)843221752003-2011
40Hashim Amla (SA)842221592011-2019
41Steve Smith (AUS)834201052011-2019
42Mohammad Azharuddin (IND)82625931987-1999
43David Boon (AUS)815161001987-1992
44Andy Flower (ZIM)81529115*1992-2003
45Gary Kirsten (SA)80621188*1996-2003
46Aaron Finch (AUS)787181532015-2019
47MS Dhoni (IND)7802591*2007-2019
48Steve Tikolo (KENYA)76827961996-2011
49Joe Root (ENG)758161212015-2019
50Graeme Smith (SA)74720912003-2011


As we eagerly await the upcoming World Cup, let’s take a moment to reflect on the brilliance of these cricket icons who have graced the tournament with their extraordinary talent. Their records and achievements continue to be a source of inspiration for cricket enthusiasts worldwide, reminding us of the magic and beauty of this beloved sport.


Scroll to Top